abc27 wins top honors at AP awards show - abc27 WHTM

abc27 wins top honors at AP awards show

Posted: Updated:

abc27 (WHTM-TV) was the proud winner of seven first-place and five second- and third-place awards at Saturday night's the Associated Press awards show.

Additionally, abc27 received this year's Joe Snyder Award for Outstanding News Organization recipient.

abc27 won first place for its continuing coverage of the trial and sentencing of Jerry Sandusky.

Reporter and anchor Dennis Owens and photojournalists Joe Camut and Eric Heisler received first place in the series category for their reports on retired state employees who were 'triple-dipping.'

Eric Finkenbinder won first place for best weathercast, and first place in photojournalism went to abc27's Kyle Cooper.

Megan Healey and photojournalist Eric Heisler won first prize in the feature category for their series on a Pennsylvania soldier who anonymously donated a portion of her liver to a Vietnam War veteran. Eric Heisler also won second place in news photography.

Photojournalists Eric Heisler, Kyle Cooper, Mike Kruleski and Kyrie George and reporter Dave Marcheskie received first place in the sports feature category for their story Harrisburg's roller derby team, and first place in sports photography.

Reporter James Crummel, photojournalists Doug Watson and Mike Kruleski, and producers Missy Stricker and Liz Wisniewski won second place in the public affairs reporting category for abc27's Operation Sandy Relief project.

Reporter Kendra Nichols and photographer Mike Kruleski received second place for their coverage of the Wilson Middle School explosion that left 8 injured.

Reporters Dave Marcheskie, Dan Carrigan and Jeannie Flitner and photojournalists Kyle Gamble, Dwayne Myers and Kyrie George won third place for their coverage of the manhunt that led to the arrest of Clarence Shaffer, and the abc27 News at 6 team received third place for the best regularly scheduled newscast.

Powered by WorldNow