Papenfuse beats Thompson in race for Harrisburg mayor - abc27 WHTM

Papenfuse beats Thompson in race for Harrisburg mayor

Posted: Updated:
Eric Papenfuse Eric Papenfuse
Linda Thompson Linda Thompson
Dan Miller Dan Miller
Lewis Butts Lewis Butts

Democratic voters in Harrisburg have said no to a second term for Mayor Linda Thompson, and have picked Eric Papenfuse to be their mayoral nominee in the November election.

Thompson conceded defeat Tuesday night after finishing third behind Papenfuse and city controller Dan Miller in the Democratic primary.

"We worked hard -- really, really hard," Papenfuse said after his victory. "We ran out every ground ball, we went door-to-door in every precinct of this city, we had an aggressive media strategy, and I think we worked harder than any of the other campaigns, and it paid off."

With 100 percent of precincts reporting, Papenfuse, a small business owner, had received 39 percent of the total with 2,467 votes, according to the unofficial tally.

Miller had 32 percent of the vote with 2,066 ballots cast for him, and Thompson had 1,810 votes, or 28 percent. Lewis Butts Jr. received 64 votes, or 1 percent.

Thompson, who was Harrisburg's first African-American mayor and the capital city's first woman mayor, told abc27 News that she will leave the mayor's office with her head held high.

"My legacy goes well," she said. "I came in with four priorities - that was fiscal solvency, focusing on business growth, job creation and public safety - and I think we've done that and we've done it well. The worst fiscal crisis in the history of the City of Harrisburg, and few could walk that journey, and I think I walked it well."

Papenfuse will face Independent candidate Nevin Mindlin in the November election. Mindlin lost to Thompson as a Republican in 2009.

No Republican candidates ran in the primary, but Miller ran a write-in campaign on the GOP ballot and 424 write-in votes were awaiting an official count. A candidate with at least 100 write-in votes could have a spot in the general election.

For more vote results, visit http://www.abc27.com/category/200274/election-2013-vote-results


Powered by WorldNow