HARRISBURG, Pa. (WHTM) – A new analysis ranks Pennsylvania among the states most lenient on drunk drivers.
WalletHub compared DUI laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and looked at 15 key factors to evaluate which are strictest.
Pennsylvania ranked 49th out of 51.
Key factors included minimum jail time for a first offense, minimum jail time for a second offense, when drunk driving is an automatic felony, and the state’s administrative license suspension law.
In Pennsylvania, no minimum jail time is required after a first offense, while a second offense carries at least five days in jail. A third and following DUI convictions are second-degree or first-degree misdemeanors, depending on the driver’s blood-alcohol content.
Pennsylvania does not have an administrative license suspension law, which allows authorities to confiscate a driver’s license before a conviction.
Arizona, ranked as having the strictest drunk driving laws in the WalletHub analysis, has a minimum jail time of 10 days for a first offense, at least 90 days for a second offense. DUI is an automatic felony on a third offense.
Arizona drivers can have their license suspended prior to conviction for 90 days if their blood-alcohol content is 0.08 or higher, or 0.04 while driving a commercial vehicle.