House GOP picks new majority leader


Republicans held on to their majority in the state House, and now the caucus has picked it’s majority leader. 

Rep. Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster) was voted to replace outgoing majority leader Dave Reed. 

Leader-elect Cutler says he wants to focus on regulatory reform, and career and technical jobs training. 

He also says he has a history of being able to work across the aisle. 

“I think if you look back at my legislative history, you’ll find a long set of examples in terms of working with Democrats and finding bills that by and large pass unanimously, and I think if we focus on where we agree, we can find those solutions that the taxpayers expect,” Cutler said. 

The House is expected to re-elect Rep. Mike Turzai as speaker. Rep. Stan Saylor (R-York) will return as Appropriations chairman.

House Democrats selected Rep. Frank Dermody to be minority leader. Rep. Jordan Harris was chosen to be the whip, and Lancaster’s Mike Sturla was voted policy committee chairman.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Latest Videos

Don't Miss