The Pennsylvania State Police Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement will be targeting underage drinking in and around campuses.
Officers will be meeting with campus enforcement authorities to reduce underage consumption of alcohol and preempt alcohol-related problems at colleges and universities.
The State Police will be discussing the issue at institutions in Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, and York Counties.
Officers will also be meeting with many liquor licensees in college and university areas to not only promote awareness, but also to improve relations, and prevent sales of alcohol to minors and other alcohol-related violations.
Authorities say anyone under the age of 21 that is found in possession of, or consuming alcoholic beverages will be cited.
The underage drinking law in Pennsylvania is a summary offense, which carries a potential fine of $500 and up to 90 days imprisonment for a first offense. The fine increases to maximum of $1,000 for the second and each subsequent violation.
Additionally, anyone convicted of underage drinking, misrepresenting their age to buy alcohol, or carrying a false ID will have their driving privileges suspended for 90 days for a first offense, one year for a second offense, and two years for any third or subsequent offense.
State Police are also warning parents to not supply alcohol to anyone under 21.
Anyone found furnishing alcohol to minors faces a $1,000 fine, and up to one year imprisonment. The fine goes up to a minimum of $2,500 for a second offense.
Any person charged with this will also be fingerprinted and photographed as part of the arrest process. It will also be part of a permanent criminal history.