Gov. Wolf makes major announcements regarding state reopening


HARRISBURG, Pa. (WHTM) — After hinting at counties possibly moving from the yellow phase to green, Gov. Tom Wolf officially announced the move during Friday’s press conference.

17 counties will be moving to the green phase on May 29: Bradford, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango, and Warren.

The governor says the state has made significant strides in tackling coronavirus and that daily lab tests in Pennsylvania have increased by 65% since May 8.

Even with the advancement of anti-coronavirus efforts, Wolf emphasized that the commonwealth will continue precautionary measures to ward off Covid-19.

He said that the virus will continue to pose as a threat until a viable vaccine is developed.

In addition to counties entering the green phase, eight more counties will transition to yellow next Friday. Dauphin, Franklin, Huntingdon, Lebanon, Luzerne, Monroe, Pike, and Schuylkill will be joining the 49 counties already in the yellow phase.

The remaining ‘red phase’ counties will have stay-at-home orders lifted on June 5, when the governor’s shutdown extension order expires.

Gov. Wolf was joined by state Health Secretary Dr. Rachel Levine and Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency Director Randy Padfield.

Top Stories:

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Latest Videos

More Local

Don't Miss