UPDATED DATES: Pa. Turnpike service plazas to close during early morning hours for renovations

Traffic
PA-Turnpike-Logo_324234

(WHTM) — A heads-up for drivers using the turnpike late at night.

The turnpike is going to start closing one service plaza each night for an hour between midnight and 4 a.m. During those times, the turnpike will be installing a new system that will help truckers find parking which is in short supply nationwide partly because there are so many trucks on the roads.

The renovations will start on Friday night, June 4, and go on for about 14 days. The renovation schedule is as follows:

  • Friday, June 4: Hickory Run Service Plaza (I-476 northbound and southbound at milepost 86.1)
  • Saturday, June 5: Hickory Run Service Plaza (I-476 northbound and southbound at milepost 86.1)
  • Sunday, June 6: Allentown Service Plaza (I-476 northbound and southbound at milepost 55.9)
  • Monday, June 7: Allentown Service Plaza (I-476 northbound and southbound at milepost 55.9)
  • Tuesday, June 8: King of Prussia Service Plaza (I-276 westbound at milepost 328.4)
  • Wednesday, June 9: Valley Forge Service Plaza (I-76 eastbound at milepost 324.6)
  • Thursday, June 10: Peter J. Camiel Service Plaza (I-76 westbound at milepost 304.8)
  • Friday, June 11: Bowmansville Service Plaza (I-76 eastbound at milepost 289.9)
  • Saturday, June 12: Lawn Service Plaza (I-76 westbound at milepost 258.8)
  • Sunday, June 13: Lawn Service Plaza (I-76 westbound at milepost 258.8)
  • Monday, June 14: Highspire Service Plaza (I-76 eastbound at milepost 249.7)
  • Tuesday, June 15: Blue Mountain Service Plaza (I-76 westbound at milepost 202.6)
  • Wednesday, June 16: Sideling Hill Service Plaza (I-76 westbound and eastbound at milepost 172.3)
  • Thursday, June 17: Sideling Hill Service Plaza (I-76 westbound and eastbound at milepost 172.3)

Message signs around these service plazas will also have warning messages with this information.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss